Kvarken Council

The Kvarken Council is one of 12 official cross-border operators co-funded by the Nordic Council of Ministers. Its main task is to promote cross-border cooperation within the Kvarken geographical area.
The Kvarken Region consists the counties Ostrobothnia, Southern Ostrobothnia and Central Ostrobothnia in Finland and the County of Västerbotten and the municipality of Örnsköldsvik in Sweden.

Kvarken Council develops the Kvarken Region by
-supporting the cooperation between various actors in the Kvarken Region
-reducing and eliminating border barriers
-increasing the visibility of the region at national, Nordic and European levels
-working actively in several European networks
-utilising the region’s strengths and supporting its development

We offer

The Kvarken Council provides a platform for cooperation for all actors in the Kvarken region, offers a wide network of contacts and expertise, promotes the region on the European arena and supports cross-border cooperation.

Welcome to contact us!

Selected references

Main members:
In Sweden: Örnsköldsvik Municipality, Region Västerbotten
In Finland: Vaasa, Seinäjoki, Kokkola, Pietarsaari, Regional Council of Ostrobothnia, Regional Council of South Ostrobothnia, Regional Council of Central Ostrobothnia

We are looking for